The Philanthropist
The Philanthropist on IMDB
The Philanthropist
First Aired: June 24th, 2009
Status: Ended
Air Time: Wednesday, 12:00 AM
Network: NBC
Summary: Teddy Rist (portrayed by James Purefoy), is a billionaire playboy haunted by the death of his only child. His life changes when he rescues a young boy during a hurricane in Nigeria. As a result, Rist begins using his fortune to personally change the lives of others.
Next Episode:
All episodes are aired.
Episode Statistics:
# of Episodes: 8
# of Episodes I watched: 0
# of Episodes I haven't watched: 8
Last Episode I watched: -
Episode Summaries
My Season Progress: 
0 %
Season 1
Nigeria Part I
Episode 1: Nigeria Part I
Air Date: June 24th, 2009, 12:00 AM
Summary: A wealthy philanthropist's life is changed when a hurricane hits the Nigerian town he was visiting. During the storm the billionaire rescues a young boy. These events lead him to pursue his new found passion for helping those in need.
Episode 2: Myanmar
Air Date: July 1st, 2009, 12:00 AM
Summary: Teddy visits Myanmar to ask for guidance from a local leader after his company is accused of forced labor.
Episode 3: Paris
Air Date: July 8th, 2009, 12:00 AM
Summary: Olivia is reunited with an old friend who is caught in a sex-trafficking ring on a visit to Paris. Teddy does everything in his power to save the helpless young women.
Nigeria Part II
Episode 4: Nigeria Part II
Air Date: July 15th, 2009, 12:00 AM
Summary: Teddy heads to Kujama, Nigeria, to help rescue his old friend, Doctor Chima Balo. Balo was kidnapped because the local rebels didn't like Teddy and his oil refinery doing good for their town. Back at home, Philip helps an old acquaintance keep his head above water after being laid off from work.
Episode 5: Kosovo
Air Date: July 22nd, 2009, 12:00 AM
Summary: Teddy meets his ex-wife Julia and tells her about his journey to Kosovo where he tried to get Serbians and Albanians to work together, but learned that the hatred runs deep.
San Diego
Episode 6: San Diego
Air Date: July 29th, 2009, 12:00 AM
Summary: Teddy and Dax travel to San Diego and try to find the thief who stole Teddy's identity. In the meantime, Olivia and Philip find out that Maidstone Rist is in trouble.
Episode 7: Kashmir
Air Date: August 5th, 2009, 12:00 AM
Summary: When Teddy tries to close a deal with the Indian and Pakistani governments to rebuild a water system in Kashmir, he disappears on his mission.
Episode 8: Haiti
Air Date: August 12nd, 2009, 12:00 AM
Summary: Food shortage leads Teddy and Philip to Haiti where they try to help, but Philip's estranged brother, a powerful island senator named Jean Beauvais, interferes.
Information about series and episodes are provided by TheTVDB API. If you think that episode information is wrong or missing, please click here to request an update. After your request, update process can take up to 30 minutes.