The Forbidden Marriage on IMDB
First Aired: December 9th, 2022
Status: Ended
Network: MBC
Summary: A hilarious royal scheme begins when a fraud pretends to bring back the crown princess with spirit possession.
Next Episode:
All episodes are aired.
Episode Statistics:
# of Episodes: 12
# of Episodes I watched: 0
# of Episodes I haven't watched: 12
Last Episode I watched: -
Episode Summaries
My Season Progress: 
0 %
Season 1
Episode 1: Episode 1
Air Date: December 9th, 2022
Summary: Yi Heon, the king of Joseon has ordered the Prohibition of Marriage as he has not yet found a queen. However, the prohibition is already in its seventh year. Heon is not able to choose a queen as he cannot forget his beloved Crown Princess who passed away years ago. But then, a girl who claims she can be possessed by the late Crown Princess appears before Heon.
Episode 2: Episode 2
Air Date: December 10th, 2022
Summary: So Rang officially starts working at the palace as a court lady. Her duty is to make sure Heon eats well, sleeps well, and help him talk to Ja Yeon. Although she is nervous that Heon might think of her as a fraud, she still does her best to make him lift the marriage prohibition. Also, So Rang's past is revealed. She tries to avoid everyone who once knew her as her true self, Ye Hyun Sun.
Episode 3: Episode 3
Air Date: December 16th, 2022
Summary: Shin Won seems to realize that So Rang is Hyun Sun, but So Rang is not quite sure whether he knows or not. Meanwhile, Heon gets advice that it would be wise to go on a hunt. It is to show that Heon is still strong as always even without a queen. However, something unexpected happens at the hunting site and puts So Rang in need of a physician.
Episode 4: Episode 4
Air Date: December 17th, 2022
Summary: The absence of So Rang leaves Heon more bored than he expected. As she comes back after full recovery, she runs into a book writer at Aedaldang. Do Seok is a writer and painter who makes romance novels. With the masterpieces he made, So Rang tries to provoke Heon to wed a girl. Meanwhile, Lady Seo gets word that someone who resembles Hyun Sun is in town. She looks for her herself to get rid of loose ends.
Episode 5: Episode 5
Air Date: December 23rd, 2022
Summary: Even if it means defying the King, Shin Won cannot bear to see So Rang spend a night with Heon. Because of his feelings for her, the tension between Shin Won and Heon grows. Meanwhile, a rumor spreads across Hanyang that the ghost of the late Crown Princess is witnessed. Shin Won and So Rang are in search of the person who started such chaos.
Episode 6: Episode 6
Air Date: December 24th, 2022
Summary: The appearance of Ja Yeon's ghost stirs up the palace. However, Shin Won and So Rang investigate thoroughly to prove to Heon that she is not real. Eventually, they find out that someone has stolen the late Princess' court dress. The ghost is a person who just resembles Ja Yeon and is part of a scheme made by someone with a high rank within the palace.
Episode 7: Episode 7
Air Date: January 6th, 2023
Summary: Heon and Shin Won quickly go after the kidnappers who took So Rang and Hae Young. Although they were able to find Hae Young, it seems So Rang has been taken somewhere else. Eventually, they find her well in a small village called Gongnyang Village. By seeing how the people here are living happily with loved ones, Heon realizes what he has been doing to the people of his country.
Episode 8: Episode 8
Air Date: January 7th, 2023
Summary: So Rang believes that Heon still confuses her as the late Crown Princess. Although her love for Heon is sincere, she does not want it unless Heon feels the same way for her. Just as Heon is trying to prove that he also truly loves her, an attack on the Palace occurs. Chun Seok and Shin Won become severely hurt by the attack and leave Heon in danger.
Episode 9: Episode 9
Air Date: January 13rd, 2023
Summary: Shin Won leaves the palace and does not want to be found. Although Heon is sad to let his friend go, his relationship with So Rang becomes much deeper. However, Heon must now officially choose a queen and lift the Prohibition of Marriage. As So Rang does not want an official title, the two are not sure of what to do.
Episode 10: Episode 10
Air Date: January 14th, 2023
Summary: Heon finds out that So Rang is a fraud. Despite his love for her, he must banish her from the palace. However, assassins appear before her as soon as she gets banished and Shin Won is the only one who can save her. Meanwhile, the queen selection is currently the biggest issue in Joseon. Lady Seo does everything to make sure Hyun Hee gets selected.
Episode 11: Episode 11
Air Date: January 20th, 2023
Summary: Heon and So Rang reunite once again. During So Rang's absence, Heon realizes how much he desperately needs her in his life. Meanwhile, Shin Won captures the leader of the abduction ring. He interrogates the man and becomes one step closer to bringing Cho Sung Kyun down. As the end of the queen selection draws near, So Rang prepares to become who she is meant to be.
Episode 12: Episode 12
Air Date: January 21st, 2023
Summary: So Rang finally steps up and retakes her rightful name. Hyun Ho also takes her side after realizing that he has been deceived by Lady Seo. The Prohibition of Marriage is lifted, and Joseon has become a country where everyone can love freely again. With So Rang as his Queen, Heon devotes himself to ruling Joseon by truly loving the people.
Episode 13: Episode 13
Air Date: January 27th, 2023
Episode 14: Episode 14
Air Date: January 28th, 2023
Episode 15: Episode 15
Air Date: February 3rd, 2023
Episode 16: Episode 16
Air Date: February 4th, 2023
Episode 17: Episode 17
Air Date: February 10th, 2023
Episode 18: Episode 18
Air Date: February 11st, 2023
Episode 19: Episode 19
Air Date: February 17th, 2023
Episode 20: Episode 20
Air Date: February 18th, 2023
Episode 21: Episode 21
Air Date: February 24th, 2023
Episode 22: Episode 22
Air Date: February 25th, 2023
Episode 23: Episode 23
Air Date: March 3rd, 2023
Episode 24: Episode 24
Air Date: March 4th, 2023
Information about series and episodes are provided by TMDB API. If you think that episode information is wrong or missing, please click here to request an update. After your request, update process can take up to 30 minutes.