In the Motherhood
In the Motherhood on IMDB
In the Motherhood
First Aired: March 26th, 2009
Status: Ended
Genre: Drama, Comedy
Air Time: Tuesday, 12:00 AM
Network: ABC (US)
Summary: Megan Mullally and Cheryl Hines come to ABC in the new comedy "In the Motherhood," which takes a look at the importance of family and friends while trying to juggle motherhood, work and love lives in an overly complicated modern world. The story focuses on Rosemary, Jane and Emily, who represent mothers we all know. Rosemary is a free-wheeling mom who plays it fast and loose when it comes to parenting her teenaged son, Luke. Married numerous times, but currently single, Rosemary lives by her own rules. Much to the amazement of the other moms, her nontraditional parenting style has yielded a son much more responsible than she. Rosemary's best friend, Jane, is a recently divorced working mother of a pre-teen, Annie, and a baby girl, Sophie, who is just trying to keep her career and home afloat. Having just returned to work after giving birth eight months ago, Jane struggles to find a happy balance - lucky for her she has her "manny," Horatio, to help out. Jane's younger sister, Emily, sees herself as the model stay-at-home-super-mom for her two young children, Esther and Bill. Emily's home is a work of art, and her kids are polite and sweet-everything has its place in her world. Married to Jason, Emily takes parenting as seriously as any mother could. As for the men in their lives, Horatio, Jane's "manny," communicates with Jane's infant daughter through sign language and believes the baby is the only person who really "gets" him. He's a good-hearted lug who is also much more than a babysitter to the three ladies. Then there's Jason, Emily's husband, who is the uptight breadwinner, ready at any given moment to open a vein for his family. He likes his food to be organic and his wife, home and children at the top of their class. Basically he's an ulcer waiting to happen.
Next Episode:
All episodes are aired.
Episode Statistics:
# of Episodes: 7
# of Episodes I watched: 0
# of Episodes I haven't watched: 7
Last Episode I watched: -
Episode Summaries
My Season Progress: 
0 %
Season 1
It Takes a Village Idiot
Episode 1: It Takes a Village Idiot
Air Date: March 26th, 2009, 12:00 AM
Summary: Jane's week alone with Sophie turns out to be more stressful than she had hoped. Meanwhile, Rosemary tries to unionize Horatio's fellow nannies in order to get them better perks; and Emily and Jason's children don't like their "stay-cation" concept.
Episode 2: Vacation
Air Date: April 2nd, 2009, 12:00 AM
Summary: Jane feels like taking time off to be with her baby is as tough as being at work. Rosemary explains the need to unionize to Jane's nanny, Horatio. Emily and her husband decide to take a stay at home vacation this year, much to the disappointment of their children.
Episode 3: Bully
Air Date: April 9th, 2009, 12:00 AM
Summary: Jane heads to Annie's school to confront her bully, but when it comes to the workplace, she becomes the bully by using some tried-and-true techniques to get what she wants. Meanwhile, a newcomer is challenging Emily as head mom at the preschool. Also, Rosemary wants to get her 1980's band back together.
Practice What You Preach
Episode 4: Practice What You Preach
Air Date: April 16th, 2009, 12:00 AM
Summary: After Annie announces she is quitting her karate class, Jane rejoins a kickball at work to teach her a lesson regarding staying on course. Emily and Jason worry about their son's imaginary friend's temperament, and Rosemary shows off her parenting skills at seminar.
Episode 5: Shepfather
Air Date: June 25th, 2009, 12:00 AM
Summary: Jane begins to doubt her parenting skills when Shep, her boyfriend, immediately his it off with Horatio and her children. Meanwhile, Rosemary gives Emily a lesson on carpooling after being challenged by a neighbor on her supremacy.2
Episode 6: Where There's a Will, There's a Wake
Air Date: July 2nd, 2009, 12:00 AM
Summary: Should something happen to Emily or Jason she would like to know if Jane would be the perfect parent to their kids and make her legal guardian to their kids should something happen to them. Meanwhile; after attending her Aunt's funeral, Rosemary decides to throw herself a living wake so as to not miss out in all the fun, when the end really does comes.
Episode 7: In Sickness and In Health
Air Date: July 9th, 2009, 12:00 AM
Information about series and episodes are provided by TheTVDB API. If you think that episode information is wrong or missing, please click here to request an update. After your request, update process can take up to 30 minutes.