Endgame on IMDB
First Aired: March 14th, 2011
Status: Ended
Air Time: Monday, 10:00 PM
Network: Showcase (CA)
Summary: Endgame is an original drama series centering around a brilliant chess master. Using the skills that made him chess champion of the world, Arkady Balagan solves the crimes that mystify others. Traumatized by the murder of his fiancé, Balagan has become a prisoner in his luxury Vancouver hotel, terrified to step outside. To pay his bill, Balagan starts solving mysteries using an unlikely band of hotel employees and chess fanatics to do his legwork. Arrogant, brilliant and charismatic, the Russian-born Balagan is able to envision his unknown opponent’s motives and moves. He imagines events, interviews the living and the dead, and runs conflicting scenarios all in his head. And we get to watch right along with him as he solves crimes that baffle the police. In Endgame, we see genius at work.
Next Episode:
All episodes are aired.
Episode Statistics:
# of Episodes: 13
# of Episodes I watched: 0
# of Episodes I haven't watched: 13
Last Episode I watched: -
Episode Summaries
My Season Progress: 
0 %
Season 1
Opening Moves
Episode 1: Opening Moves
Air Date: March 14th, 2011, 10:00 PM
Summary: Balagan's first case is launched when Danni pleads with him to find a missing boy and, in a race against time, he enlists Sam and Alcina to help.
Turkish Hold'em
Episode 2: Turkish Hold'em
Air Date: March 21st, 2011, 10:00 PM
Summary: A daring robbery during a high-stakes poker game forces Hugo to ask Balagan for help, prompting the chess master to create his own complex plot to trap the culprit.
The Caffeine Hit
Episode 3: The Caffeine Hit
Air Date: March 28th, 2011, 10:00 PM
Summary: A well-dressed man wakes up on the sidewalk with no shoes, no wallet, and no memory. The only thing in his pocket is a receipt that leads him to the Huxley Hotel. Remembering nothing but how much he loves his wife, the man hires Balagan to find her and to help him rediscover his identity. While uncovering the truth of the amnesiac’s complicated life, Balagan battles with Pippa over the investigation into Rosemary’s murder.
The Other Side of Summer
Episode 4: The Other Side of Summer
Air Date: April 4th, 2011, 10:00 PM
Summary: Swallowing his pride, Hugo asks Balagan for help. Walt, Hugo’s police mentor, is retiring, but one unsolved case still haunts him. Twenty years ago, a teen girl disappeared and Walt is convinced her ex-boyfriend, Stephen, killed her. But because the girl’s body was never found, Walt could never charge Stephen. Now with Balagan’s help, Hugo hopes to find the one piece of evidence that will put Stephen behind bars before Walt takes matters into his own hands. Pippa comes to Balagan with some startling news in Rosemary’s case - the police have finally arrested a suspect.
I Killed Her
Episode 5: I Killed Her
Air Date: April 11st, 2011, 10:00 PM
Summary: A mysterious doctor tells Balagan that he is responsible for the murder of a woman found in the hotel pool during a Psychiatric Conference, drawing Balagan into a complex and dangerous game.
Fearful Symmetry
Episode 6: Fearful Symmetry
Air Date: April 18th, 2011, 10:00 PM
Summary: Enlisted by a terrified family to help solve the inexplicable bombing of their car, Balagan is sidetracked by an unexpected match with a 16-year-old world chess champion.
Gorillas in our Midst
Episode 7: Gorillas in our Midst
Air Date: April 25th, 2011, 10:00 PM
Summary: Smitten by a beautiful Chinese cryptologist, Sam convinces Balagan to try to solve an intricate puzzle involving a vital secret and an attractive, conniving female journalist.
The White Queen
Episode 8: The White Queen
Air Date: May 2nd, 2011, 10:00 PM
Summary: When the imperious heiress of the Huxley Hotel empire descends for an inspection, she coerces Balagan into helping her find her son, who has mysteriously disappeared.
Huxley, We Have a Problem
Episode 9: Huxley, We Have a Problem
Air Date: May 9th, 2011, 10:00 PM
Summary: When Balagan’s oldest friend, the larger than life Russian cosmonaut Oleg Olesky, comes to the Huxley, he brings more than the party. About to pilot the first private space tourism rocket ship, Oleg is there with Chase Galactic as they announce their maiden launch. When the head engineer, Randall, falls from the roof of the hotel, Oleg is the prime suspect. With his only alibi being the fact he was with his boss’s wife, which she denies, Oleg pleads for Balagan’s help. Balagan eventually figures out the true motive for Randall’s murder – and the real murderer.
Bless This Union
Episode 10: Bless This Union
Air Date: May 16th, 2011, 10:00 PM
Summary: When the hotel safe is robbed during an extravagant Indian wedding celebration, the distraught couple asks Balagan to help recover their stolen gifts- but is it an inside job or the work of professionals?
Mr Black
Episode 11: Mr Black
Air Date: May 31st, 2011, 10:00 PM
Summary: Balagan is forced to match his chess skills against a computer when his anonymous online opponent reveals that he is playing for lethally high stakes - the lives of a group of innocent hostages.
Polar Opposites
Episode 12: Polar Opposites
Air Date: June 6th, 2011, 10:00 PM
Summary: A rock star hires Balagan to find $200,000 stolen from him - a mystery that also involves colourful groupies, a missing polar bear, and the kidnapped grandmother of Danni's estranged husband.
Deadman Talking
Episode 13: Deadman Talking
Air Date: June 13rd, 2011, 10:00 PM
Summary: After Balagan investigates the sudden death of a hotel security guard, he is forced to face his worst nightmare.